Whip it up Weekend Recipe – Ranch Dressing

I’m on a quest lately to remove as many artificials and preservatives from our diet as possible. I have been able to do that with a lot of our foods, but there are a few items I am still working on. To be honest, it will probably be a never ending quest! One staple in our house that has been hard to let go of is Ranch Dressing! My chicks can’t eat nuggets without it and Rooster Brown can’t eat ANYTHING without it! (or Tony Chachere’s Cajun Seasoning, but that’s another story…) There is so much junk and fat in salad dressings! MSG for one and that stuff wreaks havoc on your body! One of my teachers taught on MSG when I was in trade school, and I have tried to stay away from it ever since. Sadly, MSG is prominent in most pre-made dressings and powder packets. So I decided to try making my own buttermilk ranch dressing. I had buttermilk that was a by product from my butter making. (I will write a post later about Butter vs Margarine. The findings will gross you out for sure!) I found this recipe on several blogs and decided to give it a try! Here’s what you do…

Ingredients
2 Tbsp dried parsley
1 tsp dried dill weed
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp minced onion or onion powder
1/2 tsp dried basil
1/2 tsp pepper

Directions
Add each of the dried spices to a bowl and gently stir. ( I ran mine through the food processor to chop the parsley to be more like store bought dressing)
Store in a resealable plastic baggie or small ball canning jar with tight fitting lid in your spice cabinet. Makes about 4 Tbsp worth of mix.

101_6912

Ranch Mix

101_6913

Buttermilk Ranch Dressing

101_6914

Recycled creamer bottle has the perfect pour spout!

To make the ranch dressing, whisk together 1/3 cup greek yogurt with 1/4 cup buttermilk (more or less depending on the consistency you want) with 1 Tbsp (or 1/2 tbsp if you use the food processor) of the homemade ranch dressing seasoning mix. Season with salt, to taste. Use immediately and can refrigerate for up to 3 days. This is a great use for empty creamer bottles!!
I did a lick test on the spoon and it was AMAZING!! I cannot wait to try it on a salad! I will update later with the verdict from the family!

Enjoy and Happy eating!!!

Recipe adapted from: $5 Dinners

Leave a Reply

