Homemade Uncrustables

Uncrustables

I couldn’t believe how easy it was to make these and why I had never thought to do it myself before! I loved the convenience of these little frozen sandwiches, but hated the price tag that was attached to them! After looking at them I thought…”Geeze! I can make these myself!” So I did! Here is the quick money saving tutorial!

What you need…

1 Loaf of bread

Peanut Butter

Jelly

Rolling pin

3 ingredients

What you do…

Flatten you bread with the rolling pin. Cut off all the crust. With the help of 4 little hands…

Spread some peanut butter, add a dollop of jelly, fold over and press the edges. (I wet the edges of ours with a little water to help them stick.) Freeze them and they are ready for your next trip to the park!

Enjoy!!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Uncrustables

  1. While I have never tried a peanut butter and jam sandwich, your crustless sambo technique would be perfect for any variety of fillings, including ones that you later plan to defrost and whack in the sandwich press/under the griller.

    I would go one step further and put those leftover crusts to use: for example, a topping for a casserole, or lightly toasted (in aforementioned applicances), and served with something yummy, such as a homemade dip, or smother ’em with Vegemite (Vegemite is my Oz retort to that crazy jam and peanut butter combo). Perhaps you could put the toasted crusts in a plastic freezer bag (a pre-loved and washed one of course!), pound the heck out of them with a fist or rolling pin, and use the resulting bread crumbs for whatever you normally use bread crumbs for. Benefits: minimises wastage, extends the fun, and saves you money buying breadcrumbs.

    • Yes! I actually have 2 gallon sized freezer bags full of bread crumbs in the freezer and a bag of croutons in the pantry or I would have done the same with the crusts. Instead we went to feed the ducks at our local park! 🙂

Leave a Reply

