What’s on the menu?

I am finally getting a chance to type up the menu! The Chicks are happily playing dress up, giving me a few quiet minutes.  I made this week my “NO” week. I have no commitments this week, so that I can focus on getting the house back in order (It’s amazing how quickly it falls apart) and get our schoolwork back on track.

I am really excited about cooking this week! Do you ever go through those slumps, where you don’t want to cook? Me too, just another reason why I LOVE cooking out of my freezer! (I keep telling Rooster Brown that I will soon need bigger freezer!) I’ve got a few new recipes on the menu and some family favorites I dug up. I hope you enjoy them as much as we do!

Breakfast

  • Bread machine Cinnamon Rolls x 2(the Chicks requested these again this week)
  • Fruit & Yogurt
  • Pancakes x 2
  • Cheese Eggs x 2

Lunch

  • Lentil and Sausage Soup (I’m making these soups and freezing into single servings for my lunches throughout the week. I’m terrible about skipping lunch and then snacking too much.)
  • Meatball soup
  • PB & J
  • Turkey Roll Ups
  • Mac & Cheese
  • Lunch Out
  • Leftovers

Dinner

Snacks

  • Popcorn
  • Home made Ice Cream Sandwiches

Freezer

  • Lentil Soup
  • Meat ball Soup
  • Hashbrown Casserole
  • Freezer Biscuits

Breadmaker

  • Honey Wheat Bread
  • Hamburger Buns (I use my crescent roll recipe and divide it into “buns”)

 

Grocery List

  • 1/2 doz eggs
  • 5 Sticks of butter
  • Sliced Cheese
  • 3 cups sour cream
  • 8oz shredded velveeta cheese
  • coconut oil
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3 cups Brown Sugar
  • 10 cups flour
  • Salt
  • cinnamon
  • Thyme
  • Crushed Red Pepper
  • 3 tsp Garlic powder
  • 1 tsp dry mustard
  • Chili Powder
  • Pepper
  • Mrs. Dash Table seasoning
  • Bread Yeast
  • Bread Crumbs
  • Cooking Spray
  • 7 cups chicken stock (I will be making this from the whole chicken I cook this week, this link makes it so simple!)
  • 4 cups beef broth
  • Lentils
  • Bowtie Pasta
  • Celery (you only need 2 stalks, but chop the rest and freeze them in 1 cup portions for later use!)
  • Carrots
  • 2 onions
  • 1 Garlic bulb
  • 8oz sliced mushrooms
  • 1 bag baby spinach
  • 2lbs new potatoes
  • chives
  • 1 lb Sausage links
  • 3 lbs Ground Turkey or ground beef (your choice)
  • 8 chicken breasts
  • Sliced lunch meat of choice
  • 1 whole chicken
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes (one Italian and one regular)
  • 1 can Chickpeas
  • 1 tomato soup
  • 4oz Green Chiles
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup (I will make mine myself)
  • 3 tbls Worcestershire Sauce
  • Regular Yellow Mustard
  • Tortillas
  • Frozen Hashbrowns (not southern style)
  • Lay’s potato chips
  • Popcorn (kernels, not microwave! This is an easy place to make it healthy, coconut oil on the stove with the kernels…delish!)

This should cost you roughly $110. If you make your stock and cream soups, you can cut roughly $10 off the total! Making your own foods, not only is healthy, it cuts down your budget. I was completely sold on the chicken stock, waste not want not right?!?

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

