Sometimes…..

Sometimes life takes turns that you are not prepared for. Sometimes they are wonderful turns, sometimes they are trying turns. That happened not long after my last blog post of last summer….the turns. It’s been almost a year since I have written anything!!!  I am hoping this is the end of my impromptu blogging hiatus. I’ve missed writing. (I may not be that great at it, but I’ve missed it nonetheless.)

Here’s what’s been going on….

At the end of last summer, Rooster Brown was offered an amazing job opportunity. It was too good to pass up. We took a few weeks to pray about it and both felt that this was the direction God wanted us to take. Not only was this a career change, but a life change. You see, for the past 10+ years, we have owned our own businesses. That’s all we have known our whole married life. It’s all the Chicks have ever known. But, like I said this opportunity was amazing. So, Rooster Brown, sold the business we had built from the ground up, left the businesses owner world and went corporate. Big Change!!! But, not only that, but he also went back to school. Another big change!!! This has taken some getting used to! But I couldn’t be more proud of him! He has beautifully balanced work, school, and family and I love him for that!

Fast forward 7 months and we have our trying turn…..A huge tree fell on our house during some crazy storms we had in Texas. NOT FUN!!!!  Almost 2 months later and we are still in the repair phase. I tell you what, dealing with insurance companies and mortgage companies are a headache. But, Good news is, I think we are finally on our way to being all fixed up.

During all this craziness, I have taken up running again (it keeps me sane, for real…) and have taken control of my eating habits. It had gotten bad y’all. My cousin told me about an eating style she had been hearing about…Trim Healthy Mama. I looked more into it and decided from that moment, I could do this! This was an eating style I could live with FOREVER! Since then, I have lost 30 lbs and over 25 inches in 6 months!!!! (I’ll post before and after pictures in another post.) It has changed my life. Period. I was recently asked to “coach” some people starting out on THM and to share some of my menus. That’s when I decided to get this blog back up and running again. So….I’m back y’all!!!!! I can’t wait to share all this deliciousness with you!

Until then….

******UPDATE!!!!!******
April 4, 2016

Wow can God throw you curveballs! Obviously I didn’t do well keeping this blog up. You know that corporate job Rooster Brown went to? So, a year into the job and he got a promotion! Woohoo! Crazy exciting! But…..we would have to move. So, amidst reconstruction, we packed up and moved to Dallas! Small town girl in a big city! 😱😱😱 Culture shock for sure.
Today makes 7 months since we have moved and I can finally say we’ve hit a steady rhythm. Rooster Brown is still going strong in school, Dean’s list baby! (I am so flippin’ proud of him!)
My goal for this blog is to post at least once a week. Fingers crossed. I know I have said it so many times! But I’m seriously this time! I’m trying to find a balance for all the things I love and that are important to me. Pray with me that I can find the sweet spot.
So…..until next time!

Leave a Reply

