Starbucks Inspired Iced Coffee with a Trim Healthy Mama Twist

 

 

Ok, I’ll be honest. I’m a coffee lover. I’m a cream swirled coffee lover. I’m a cream swirled sugar drenched coffee lover. And since it’s summer time, I like it on the rocks! In short…I LOVE STARBUCKS ICED COFFEE!!!!! Unfortunately, it doesn’t like my waistline or hips. Or maybe it likes them too much and those extra calories like to hang around for a while. 

Back in November of 2014, I began my Trim Healthy Mama journey. This meant those delicious, sugar laden iced coffees were off limits. I tried hard for a long time to just give them up completely. But I couldn’t do it! Y’all, I have no self control! My car is automatically drawn to the closest starbucks! I went on vacation in April and I got an Iced Chai Latte EVERY DAY!!! Seriously…EVERY. DAY. (I know it’s not an iced coffee, but those are another delicious weakness of mine!) Since I live in a small town, I began (pre-THM) to make my own iced coffees. The Pioneer Woman re-posted her blog of her iced coffee recipe yesterday morning! I would make the super sweet, sweetened condensed milk version. YUM! I drank it every morning! I also packed on the pounds like crazy! Now fast forward to THM and 35 pounds lost. I refuse to drink the sugary stuff anymore, but I still crave my super sweet iced coffee. Well folks, I found a replacement! Ta-da!!!!!!!20150627_093620This my friends has changed my mornings! I can now drink one everyday!!!! I’m in heaven! And it’s packed with protein! So without further ado……

First off I use this cold brew method.

In a blender, add 1 1/2 cups of cold brew concentrate and 1/2 cup of water (I like mine strong) or two cups of regular brewed coffee that has been cooled. Then add 2-4 tablespoons of heavy whipping cream (enough to give it that nice caramel color!), 1 tablespoon cocoa powder (I love the Trader Joe’s brand), 5 tsp of THM Sweet Blend or Truvia (I told you I like it sweet! Feel free to reduce that to your liking!) and 1 tsp vanilla. Begin to blend on low. Add 1 tsp of glucomannan while blender is running to keep from getting clumps. The gluccie is completely optional, but I find it gives a nice smooth texture. While blender is still running, add 1 scoop of whey protein powder or 2 egg yolk. Blend for another 30 seconds and then pour into a tall glass of ice! DELICIOUS!!!!!

 

Iced Coffee Trim Healthy Mama Style – S

1 1/2 cups cold brew coffee

1/2 cup water

2-4 tbls Heavy whipping cream

1tbls cocoa powder

1 tsp vanilla

5 tsp THM Sweet Blend or Truvia

*Blend the above*

*with blender running* Add:

1 tsp Glucomannan

1 scoop Pristine Whey Protein Powder or 2 egg yolks

Pour over ice! And enjoy!

For more info on Trim Healthy Mama, check out the website and their facebook page!

 

One thought on “Starbucks Inspired Iced Coffee with a Trim Healthy Mama Twist

  1. Pingback: Chocolatey Cake with Mocha Fudge Frosting – THM S | The Little Brown Hen

Leave a Reply

